Prospective Client - No records

SarahS
SarahS Registered Posts: 60 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi Folks

Would really appreciate your thoughts as I'm relatively new to the MiP world!

Been approached by a prospective client who I'm meeting on Friday. He hasn't paid tax since he left his last acountant in 2006!! He is receiving demands from HMRC for £2K relating to those years. He's asked HMRC if he can pay in instalments but apparently they` weren't receptive - different story. Anyway, he's asked if I can get his accounts and tax sorted. Problem is that he hasn't kept any records. He said he didn't think it was worth it because he has only been working a couple of days a week earning about £100 per week with minimal expenses. If only it were that simple eh?!

Anyone dealt with this sort of thing before? Explained HMRC penalties etc and he appreciates all of that. How can I produce accounts without records and only his estimates?? Anyone experience of how HMRC view this type of thing?

Cheers.

Sarah

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    You will need to assess the risk of the client under-declaring income. Based on this assessment I would decide whether to engage with the client or not.

Tax Returns need to be filed regardless of the presence of base records.

Use any documents you can obtain, bank statements maybe? Then it is a question of estimates. Make sure you mark the returns as estimated and ensure when you send the Returns for signing state in your letter that estimates have been used and the associated risks if an investigation is opened.
    Regards,

Burg
  • SarahS
    SarahS Registered Posts: 60 Regular contributor ⭐
    Thank You

Thanks for your reply Burg, much appreciated.

He's very happy to go on the straight and narrow from now on. I've arranged to meet him and asked him to bring along any relevant paperwork that he has and I'll make an assessment from there.

Thanks again.
  • monkeypuzzle47