What work experience do you need to progress?

Options
Sally
Sally Registered Posts: 69 Regular contributor ⭐
I wonder if anyone can help me. I am currently studying AAT Diploma and have enjoyed studying and would like to continue after my AAT (assuming i pass everything!!). What work experience is required to follow which route - ACCA,CIMA etc?

At the moment i am working as an administrator in a PRU with no financial duties, although in my last post i was responsible for all financial management of a small charity, eg, cash flow forecasting, budget management, etc... and have always worked within the finance departments of very large companies but in very specific roles which do not give you a broad knowledge of the financial management of the business.

Could i count my varied, past work experience or does it have to be current? i am just applying for a position as Accounts clerk/Book keeper but before i complete my application i want to know if it will be useful for me in progressing?

I'd be really grateful for some feedback.

Comments

• AK002
    AK002 Registered Posts: 2,492 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    I think it's 2 years in an accounts based role.

It needs to be from date of registration with AAT onwards, so past experience won't count unless you were registered with AAT before that?
  • messedup89
    messedup89 Registered Posts: 1,281 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    its 1 year full time. Think its 2 part time
  • Bookworm55
    Bookworm55 Registered Posts: 479 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    AAT need a year's experience, or the equivalent if you work part-time or less than 100% on accounting functions. The work experience you need for AAT is relatively low level:

Examples of relevant work experience