How to get a job in Accountancy

Options
chocolate Box
chocolate Box Registered Posts: 13 New contributor 🐸
Hi, I am studying the technician level over 2 years, so will be completing the course by June 2011. Presently I am working as an administrator for a large company and really want to get a job in an accountancy firm or within the finance department of a company. There aren't many job vacancies at the moment and even though I send off applications, I'm lucky if I even get a reply, let alone an interview.

Does anyone have any tips? I am willing to start at the bottom of a new career and therefore willing to take a pay cut to acheive this.

Would you recommend sending speculative letters to companies, or would I be better joining a recruitment agency?

With limited experience in finance (yet over 17 years work experience), no one seems interested,- if I can't get a new job, then I won't be able to get my full MAAT at the end of my course.

Any advise welcome

Comments

• carolyn
    carolyn Registered Posts: 28 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    My first degree is in computing. But I can not find a job in IT. So I changed my subject toaccounting. I started my studying AAT last July. And four months later, I found a volunteering job in Big Issue. I did credit control. That was very helpful. One month later, I got a temp job. Although only one week, it was very helpful for your job hunting. Two months later, I got a job offer about financial clerk, that was a permanent job in a university. Now I enjoy my job very much.
    So don't give up. Keep going. Try to find a volunteering job.

Good Luck.

Carolyn
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Presently I am working as an administrator for a large company and really want to get a job in an accountancy firm or within the finance department of a company.