AAT funding from job....

Options
amyjayne27
amyjayne27 Registered Posts: 314 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hi all,

I am currently studying City & Guilds Bookkeeping and Accounts level 2 (just completed level 1.)

I am certain I want to study the AAT course, but I am unsure as to whether I should just pay for it myself or wait and see if any trainee jobs arise which will fund the course for me.
I have sent my CV to all the accounting firms in my area, and one of them emailed back saying they take on an AAT/ACCA trainnee each year around May/June time so they will keep my details for that time. However, most of the firms take on A level graduates which is not the study path I have chosen. Will employers take the City & Guilds qualifications seriously?

Im in a dead end job which I hate and I really enjoying accounting and just want to get the ball rolling.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Amy

Comments

• jorja1986
    jorja1986 Registered Posts: 210 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    Amy by contacting firms you are already getting the ball rolling.

The only thing you can do is to keep applying for trainee jobs, if you dont have certain qualification level you can get govt assistance with funding. ( I am not sure of levels as I have not used this route).

Many firms who have training contracts put in a clause that you have to work for x number of years before you are exempt from paying back any fee if you leave. (Only saying as colleague took training then decided she wanted to leave and had a nice bill on her doormat).

Good luck in your job hunting
  • amyjayne27
    Options
    Hi Jorja,

Thank you for your advice. I just hope they wont look at my qualifications and think thats not enough, I really do not know how City & Guilds are seen in the accounting world, which is what I am trying to find out.