Getting into accounting with no experience

Options
dreaminginpink
dreaminginpink Registered Posts: 2 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi everyone,

Just wondering whether you could share your experiences of how you got into accounting - what position you started in at your company, how you got into your current role etc. I've been looking at getting into accounting for a while but am finding it hard to get into as all of the accounting positions I see advertised (and im only looking at junior/ trainee/ accounts admin positions) ask for accounts experience which I dont have!

I would like to go into accounting within a business rather than in an accounting firm and I would also like to study for AAT. I'm a graduate and i've worked in schools for 2 years which also doesnt help as its so unrelated! I've tried going to an agency but they seem to be trying to get me to apply for admin roles (probably again due to my lack of experience) which dont really have anything to do with accounts. Do you think that an admin role would help me to get a job in accounts by giving me valuable experience or would I be wasting more time do you think? Has anybody got into their current role through starting in admin? Im really eager to get started with an accounting career but just dont how how to go about getting a suitable job with no experience! Any feedback/tips would be really appreciated :)

Comments

• C2XVT
    C2XVT Registered Posts: 62 Regular contributor โญ
    Options
    I think alot of people working in accounts would have started at junior level. Unless ofcourse we look at graduates, who would be taken onto graduate programmes. Or students with academic pedigree.

For instance, we've recently taken on a graduate who completed her degree in Geography last year. And she's been taken on as a financial analyst.
  • shawn michaels
    shawn michaels Registered Posts: 52 Regular contributor โญ
    Options