DFS - Steve's Advice

Options
Steve Collings
Steve Collings Registered Posts: 997 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi Guys

Over the last couple of weeks I have been lecturing students who are preparing for DFS June 2010. These sessions have revealed some alarming instances of tutors who are, in my opinion, teaching students simply how to pass the exam, rather than developing knowledge which can be applied in the workplace.

Two students have mentioned that their tutors have gone straight into working past exam papers. This is not appropriate for new students of DFS. In my opinion, tutors who do this are going about their lectures completely wrong. These tutors are more concerned about their pass rates than developing students knowledge in a complex and technical subject area. Would you expect your driving instructor to take you on the M6 on your first lesson? Absolutely not!

In order to pass DFS you need to go back to basics. You need to dust off your old FRA books and revise double-entry concepts if this is a weaker area for you. You also need to print off the Guidance Notes by going to the homepage, type in 'DFS Guidance' and print off the notes for February 2009. This details the syllabus, the examinable IFRS/IAS and the 'need to know' parts of DFS.

You should also use the contents page of your textbook as a guide for study. Ordinarily text books are structured in a logical format and the contents page can offer a good grounding for your studies. It can also help you in structuring your timetable - but remember a timetable is only effective if you stick to it!!

Students of DFS at this early stage in studies should not be looking at past exam papers yet. They should be doing introductory level studies, introductory level questions and should then build up the complexities as their studies progress. By the end of April, student should be starting question practise.