Advice appreciated on which level to start at

mge
mge Registered Posts: 94 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi. I've had a look at the 'skillcheck questionnaire', but would also appreciate some advice from members of this forum on which level of the Accounting Qualification to begin in September.

I started studying book-keeping last September, and by June I will have:
- OCN Computerised Accounts (Sage) - Level 2
- IAB Level 2 Certificate in Book-keeping (manual)
- IAB Level 3 Diploma in Accounting and Advanced Book-keeping (manual)

- I also have a science degree
- I have no experience yet in a book-keeping/accounting job, but hope to get some soon.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• sammyd22
    sammyd22 Registered Posts: 207 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    mge wrote: »
    Hi. I've had a look at the 'skillcheck questionnaire', but would also appreciate some advice from members of this forum on which level of the Accounting Qualification to begin in September.

I started studying book-keeping last September, and by June I will have:
    - OCN Computerised Accounts (Sage) - Level 2
    - IAB Level 2 Certificate in Book-keeping (manual)
    - IAB Level 3 Diploma in Accounting and Advanced Book-keeping (manual)

- I also have a science degree
    - I have no experience yet in a book-keeping/accounting job, but hope to get some soon.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Im not sure what your L3 covers exactly. If it covers Marginal, absorption costing etc and Extended Trial Balance, Balance sheet & P&L lay out then you may be entitled to exemptions with AAT upto Techician stage (L4).

Then you could be qualified in 1 yr and entitled to reasonable Exemptions on Chartership.

Hope this helps.
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️