bookeeping work

crybaby66
crybaby66 Registered Posts: 8 New contributor 🐸
I have just qualified for AAT Technician and become a full member.
I want to do some bookeeping work for a family member's small decorating business, he currently pays an accountant to do all his accounts, I was looking to do this on a voluntary basis to start with as I have no experience of bookeeping only what was covered in AAT. Should I do a bookeeping course? or would I just be able to go ahead and start given a bit of training, I want to gain confidence and experience in this field so that at a later date I could start charging for it, Although I work within a finance office I don't cover actual accountancy type work I am more on processing of invoices for payment etc. I seem to be stuck in a trap as I have AAT and no experience therefore no-one seems to want to employ me because of my lack of experience. So my skills from AAT will just go to waste, I am in my late 30's so this makes it even harder than if I were in my 20s.
Anyone got any advice I would be very grateful
Thanks in advance
CB

Comments

• T.C.
    T.C. Registered, Tutor Posts: 1,448 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    You have just qualified! Have confidence! The small decorating business cannot involve anything too hi-tech for you! I would advise that you go in to the office and have a look at the system they use, then quote them a price to keep things up to date. You can do it!
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Copied from my reply on your other post:
    What do you mean by a bookkeeping course? AAT more than qualifies you for bookkeeping, another course isn't going to help you get experience, which is what you need.