Changes to DFS Unit 11 and Exams

Options
sainty
sainty Registered Posts: 21 New contributor 🐸
is anybody else struggling with all these changes to DFS. i am studying NVQ pathway, the osbourne books aren't up to date so loads of extra photocopied material has been given to us by our tutor. if that isn't bad enough the exam format is going to change in june so the past exam paper answers are not accurate. all AAT have done is publish the amended pages on their website and that even hasn't been done very well, with the different formats crammed together making them difficult to use.
the whole thing has been handled in an amateurish and unprofessional way! why didn't they wait until new books were published incorporating the changes, this is not very helpful when trying to understand complex accounting techniques.

Comments

• jow774
    jow774 Registered Posts: 465 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    I must admit I feel the same. Why didnt they just make the changes in the new syllabus or give us who are half way through the same dispensation as in the December exams and give us the old and new headings?
  • Clare Finch
    Clare Finch Registered Posts: 40 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Format of statement of financial position (balance sheet)

Hi both,

I just wanted to reassure you that although you are correct and the AAT will be adopting the full IAS 1 format for the exams in June 2010, it is really really easy so please don't let it put you off.

Simply the debits will be in the top half (all assets)

The credits will be in the bottom half (all equity and liabilities)

It is therefore easier than the old style.

When the AAT moved DFS (unit 11) onto International financial reporting, they left the balance sheet in the UK style..all past papers show the liabilities in the top half.

For June 2010 the correct format is being adopted as well as the new title 'statement of financial position'.