Charity Shop

bloobuoy75
bloobuoy75 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
Hi All,

I'm in the process of completing a set of accounts for a charity that runs a shop in town. One of the Trustees pointed out that the charity has benefited from a fair amount of goodwill (mainly in terms of donated stock) and asked whether it should be valued and shown as an asset on the Balance Sheet. Does anyone have any experience or thoughts on this? Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Bloo

Comments

• T.C.
    T.C. Registered, Tutor Posts: 1,448 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    That's a good question. I have no experience of this, but don't we go back to the old rule of valuing at the lower of cost or valuation, so that would make the value zero???!! Just a view!
  • Bookworm55
    Bookworm55 Registered Posts: 479 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    bloobuoy75 wrote: »
    Hi All,

I'm in the process of completing a set of accounts for a charity that runs a shop in town. One of the Trustees pointed out that the charity has benefited from a fair amount of goodwill (mainly in terms of donated stock) and asked whether it should be valued and shown as an asset on the Balance Sheet. Does anyone have any experience or thoughts on this? Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Bloo

I think you're in danger of using 'goodwill' to mean several different things.

I don't know how charities account for donated stock, but there must be rules for it.

But goodwill in the accounting sense is to do with purchasing other organisations, and is totally seperate. Goodwill in the everyday sense is not valuable in accounting terms, is it?

What exactly was the Trustee referring to?
  • bloobuoy75
    bloobuoy75 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
    Bookworm55 wrote: »
    What exactly was the Trustee referring to?