Advice please?

lynnemarie
lynnemarie Registered Posts: 11 New contributor 🐸
Hi,

I've been studying the intermediate stage and have passed my final exam but i have had no luck finding a job in accounts. For the last 14 years i have worked in the licenced trade but decided to change careers last year. I have applied for 60 odd jobs and written to every accountancy firm in the phone book and registered with agencies but all with the same reply....i haven't got the relevent experience. I am toying with the idea of working for myself and wondered if anyone had any advice? I know that i would only be able to offer services that i am qualified for and i have limited experience but this now seems the only way forward. I have worked in practice but many years ago.
If anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated.
Lynne

Comments

• lynnemarie
    Really.........no one?
  • anniem
    anniem Registered Posts: 1,326 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Hi Lynnemarie

Don't give up - carry on and finish AAT!

I used to work for a practice and their main line of work was actually pubs and restaurants; they had proformas to help the landlords deal with weekly cash inflow and outflow. Let's face it they're not always the best at keeping track of cash!

It was a few years ago, but I used to reconcile all the weekly movement sheets.

The sheets included;

Monday - Sunday
    Bar takings, food takings, cheques banked, cash banked

Weekly totals
    Exps:
    Wages
    Food purchases
    bar purchases
    disco/entertainment
    licences

Additional Income:
    Games machines
    cigarette machines
    condom machine

etc.

There was a weekly cash balance brought forward/carried forward and (hopefully) everything balanced by the end of each week/year!

I then reconciled everything back to the bank.

What I am trying to say, is that there are things you could do in an accounting capacity in the trade you already know about!