Advice needed on pay rise

I work as an assistant accountant and recently discovered that the purchase ledger clerk in my company is getting paid nearly as much as me. I found this out as I deal with the payroll as part of my job.

The situation is that the person is a friend of the one of the business owners and was brought in with absolutely no experience, to fill the role. The person is currently getting paid about £5k a year more than what somebody in that position should be paid according to the market and my personal experiences.

I felt really de-motivated when I saw this as I have several years more experience than the person and my workload and responsibilities are far greater. To make things worse, the person isn’t very good at the job which involves me taking time to clean up the mess, frequently. This person has also just received a pay rise when I was told there would be no pay rises this year.

I want to mention something to the senior accountant but I am worried that it will come back on me adversely as I was specifically looking at this person’s pay slip which is private, I suppose.

I would be happy with a £3k raise as this makes the gap bigger between us two and reduces the massive gap between me and the senior accountant.

Any advice would be great please.

Comments

• Rinske
    Rinske Registered Posts: 2,453 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I'm sorry, but even though you got access to the payroll, you can't use it as a weapon to ask for a raise.

If you are allowed to check each employees payslip, it is fair enough that you are aware of it, but even then, you would be expected to be discrete about it and using it as a reason to ask for a raise is not fair.

If you are paid according to the market, then there is no issue. If you are not paid according to the market, you can ask for a raise based on that or you can find a new job.