sub contractors

Options
valentino46
valentino46 Registered Posts: 124 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hi all,

ive had a friend ask me to complete his tax return for him as he is a self employed tarmac subby. He knew i am currently studying technician level but i have refused to do this for him as i am unsure if any mistakes are made (although he has very simple figures to analyse) what kind of risks there could be. However looking at the process involved he is taxed at source on his CIS vouchers, the guy does not really buy any materials but if he did are these just deducted from the net profit along with expenses or are they classed as cost of sales.

any advice would be greatly appreciated as its an avenue i would like to deal with at a later date.

cheers

rob

Comments

• valentino46
    Options
    woof woof
  • burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Options
    As a student member you are allowed to take on the work as long as you do not mention the AAT.

You should still follow their rules which state you are not to take on work which you are not capable of doing. You would need to register with HMRC as an agent and also for MLR purposes as well.

As a CIS subcontractor he will have very limited expenses usually a consisting of a small amount of:

phone
    motor
    protective equip
    P/P/S
    plus others occasionally

CIS industry can be considered higher risk as potentially he should really be an employee?

To cover yourself against errors you should have Professional Indemnity insurance. If you are not confident of doing the work then I would advise him of this. You could always help him with filling it out or just recommend he sees someone more experienced until you are so.
    Regards,

Burg
  • valentino46
    Options
    hi Burg,