Getting started

Options
Mark 99
Mark 99 Registered Posts: 14 New contributor 🐸
Can anyone give me any advice or guidance? I live in Stafford and have been a full member of the AAT since 2001; I have been working as a contractor, with various businesses - big and small, private and public sector, over the last ten years or so.

I'm thinking of starting out as a Member in Practice, probably just on a part time basis to begin with (I'm actually out of work at moment, but hope to get back into something soon). Although I've got a lot of experience, it's a slightly daunting prospect to start up self-employed. Apart from getting the clients, I'm wondering what sort of services I can provide when starting off.

Has anyone got any ideas?

Comments

• Vonni
    Vonni Registered Posts: 63 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Hi Mark

Good luck with your self employment as a MIP. You will need register with the AAT as self employed and set out the services you are going to offer together with your relevant experience in each area. The fee for registering depends on your turnover. The PI insurance offered via the AAT website with Trafalger is sufficient to start with until the business gets up and running. You will also need to register with AAT for the Money Laundering Regs and don't forget to register with the Information Commissioner for data protection services too.