40p Mileage

Options
DOTTY
DOTTY Registered Posts: 22 New contributor 🐸
Hi

Sorry if this is a daft question..............but this is my first time doing sole tader accounts and having to put the expense of 40p a mile in..........

I know i don't need a balance sheet for a sole trader but i like to do one, A for practice and B so i now everything balances.

My qeustion is, i debit the P&L with the 40p expense but on the balance sheet where is this credited? i have put it in sundry creditors at the moment?????? not convinced this is right...........

Sorry another question..........we have introduced a seconhand laptop with a value of £120.00. i am going to depreciate it over two years at 50% per year which is fine but for tax purposes this will be disregarded and a capital allowance will be availabe instead.
The capital allowance is 20%, so am i right in thinking, over the period of the laptops useful life we will only be able to claim 40% capital allowances on it?

Thanking you all in advance for any advice
Dotty.

Comments

• T.C.
    T.C. Registered, Tutor Posts: 1,448 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Firstly, mileage - has the self-employed person not kept petrol receipts. Not sure how your fuel expense is relevant to the Balance Sheet?
    As for the laptop you would use Annual Investment Allowance at the moment, so all of the expense could be claimed.
  • coojee
    coojee Registered Posts: 794 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    DOTTY wrote: »
    Hi

Sorry if this is a daft question..............but this is my first time doing sole tader accounts and having to put the expense of 40p a mile in..........

I know i don't need a balance sheet for a sole trader but i like to do one, A for practice and B so i now everything balances.

My qeustion is, i debit the P&L with the 40p expense but on the balance sheet where is this credited? i have put it in sundry creditors at the moment?????? not convinced this is right...........

Dotty.