Management Accounts?

Options
jow774
jow774 Registered Posts: 465 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Ive just been to see a possible client who asked for book keeping. I gave them a price which was the standard book keeping price and gave them approximate hours. They then started talking about how they would enjoy being able to see future projections and cashflows etc from my book keeping work. As Im new to this i wasnt sure what to say. Do other MIPs charge extra for management accounts or include this as book keeping work? Im quite happy to do them as I do them for my main job, but think they are a little more in depth than basic book keeping?

Comments

• coojee
    coojee Registered Posts: 794 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    jow774 wrote: »
    Ive just been to see a possible client who asked for book keeping. I gave them a price which was the standard book keeping price and gave them approximate hours. They then started talking about how they would enjoy being able to see future projections and cashflows etc from my book keeping work. As Im new to this i wasnt sure what to say. Do other MIPs charge extra for management accounts or include this as book keeping work? Im quite happy to do them as I do them for my main job, but think they are a little more in depth than basic book keeping?

Definately sounds MUCH more than basic book keeping! I'd tell him there'd been a misunderstanding and you'd quoted him on the basis of doing XYZ but now you know he wants ABC doing the fee is actually this.

I'm not an MIP though, I'm sure someone who knows more about that side of things will be along soon.
  • jilt
    jilt Registered Posts: 2,903 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Jo, I agree with coojee, if you haven't quoted a fee to include management accounts then explain this to the client and give him a revised fee. Now I always ask if they want management accounts before I give a price for bookkeeping jobs.
  • jow774