AAT guidelines for marketing

jilt
jilt Registered Posts: 2,903 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
I am not yet a full member or MIP but have been trading for a while. I did the professional ethics module and do my best to follow all the AAT guidelines for MIPs.

I have a query though in marketing my business and hope some of you MIPs can steer me in the right direction.

I have advertised in local mags, displayed cards in newsagents, and am on Free Index and of course I do not mention AAT as I am a student.

I have recently complied a list of potential clients from ads in local mags and by searching for trademan's websites on google to enable me to send an email shot and have of course addressed it to a named individual. There are hundreds of businesse that I don't have the owners name for though so my questions are:

1. Am I allowed to do produce a generic leaflet advertsing my company, pretty much the same as my ads, and take them to a networking event for members to pick up themselves; do a leaflet drop around the businesses in the town where my office is; do a door to door leaflet drop in the area where i live as I know it is full of sole traders; or is this not allowed as they aren't addressed to anyone?

2. Is it ok to include in my ads a from price ie 'Sole trader Accounts and Tax return from Β£xxx' ?

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    I don't know the answers. I don't see an inherent problem with either of them.

I never did an ethics module and I have read the ethical guidelines, but these aren't questions I would even have thought of.

Is it your ethics module studies that lead you to ask the questions?
  • burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod