Am I on the right course

Options
geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
Hi Folks

I graduated about 20 years ago (although with a not very good pass mark!), and now want to go into acountancy - my background is in office administration and credit control. I started on the AAT course about 6 months ago (as advised by the people at the AAT), with the aim of going onto studying the acca or cima.

However, recently I have heard that a graduate can start on the acca or cima straight away, without having to go through the AAT route? Is that true?

If so, do you think I have wasted the last 6 months or so, studying the AAT? If it is better for me to go on to the acca or cima straight away, then shall I drop the AAT course?

Thanks in advance for your response.

Comments

• PGM
    PGM Registered Posts: 1,954 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options
    Not easy to answer. I did AAT then ACCA. I felt like I started ACCA with a much better grounding than going straight in.

Also started ACCA already having a qualification, which was my aim considering a lot of people don't manage to complete the chartered qualifications.

And, depends what you want out of it, AAT can be more relevant to the middle level accountancy jobs.

ps assuming you can pass the ACCA exams, going straight into it is the faster route, but you will get some exemptions once you pass AAT.
  • geek84
    Options
    Good Morning PGM

Thanks for your speedy reply.

The reason why I was thinking of transferring onto the acca or cima course now, is that it would take me a shorter time to get the required qualifications, without having to spend a year or two doing the AAT first, although I am aware that it is possible to get exemptions if the AAT is completed first.
  • PGM
    Options
    geek84 wrote: ยป
    Good Morning PGM

Thanks for your speedy reply.