Is it going to be worth it financially?

Options
Siobhan Carmel
Siobhan Carmel Registered Posts: 50 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi Folks

I wonder if all this work and study is actually going to be financially worth it for us in the end?

Siobhan

Comments

• anniem
    anniem Registered Posts: 1,326 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Siobhan

Whether it is worth it depends on what you're doing at the moment. If you're currently working as an NHS doctor earning £150,000 plus £200,000 in overtime as recently publicised in the papers then I would say abandon the course - but if that were the case you wouldn't be worried about the costs!!!!!

When I started the course I was earning about £8-9 an hour and now I am able to charge people £20 an hour; I qualified in August and received my MIP licence in September, so potentially I have been able to more than double what I can earn.

Does that help you? I wouldn't hesitate to do it if I were you (unless I was a Doctor of course :lol:), I am now moving on to study tax with the ATT.

Anna x
    FMAAT - AAT Licensed Member in Practice - Pewsey, Wiltshire
  • janwal
    janwal Registered Posts: 1,189 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    I work for the NHS (not as a doctor, and don't earn anywhere near that amount, wish I did :lol:), I started AAT in September and I am hoping all the hard work and money paid out may even bring me closer to earning a decent living or improve my chances of maybe going it alone.
    Everything is worth it in the end!

Jan
  • Andypandy
    Andypandy Registered Posts: 526 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    All councils are being told not to employ finance officers unless AAT qualified - I'd say that the flexi-time, [perks, etc make it worth it.
  • stevef
    stevef Registered Posts: 258 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options