New Job

diane79
diane79 Registered Posts: 37 Regular contributor ⭐
I've just managed to find myself a new job YAY!! But I'm a bit nervous about what I'm taking on.

I've been working for the past 4 years in a finance department of four people. I started off processing invoices and gradually moved on to completeing the month end accounts for 2 small subsidary companies. Although most of my time is occupied with more admin tasks, keeping the companies leased car info up to date, expense claims etc. which is why I looked for another job.

My new role is to be the whole finance department for a company, purchase ledger, credit control, management accounts, vat reports.

I get the impression that the director I'll be working for will be really supportive, and I'm confident that I have the ability to do the job. I think what I'm after is maybe a bit of advice in organising myself to make sure everythings done, any suggestions for best practice/processes I should be implementing??

Any suggestions will be gratfully received

Comments

• anniem
    anniem Registered Posts: 1,326 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hi Diane

That's fantastic news about your new job. Well done, you'll love it!

To help you keep organised: Have you found Task Manager in Outlook? Its fab!

You can schedule all your tasks in there and put them on a 'recurrence' cycle.

I work in a Farm Office and successfully manage; fleet of vehicles on 6 monthly servicing/annual tax discs, all personnel issues, payroll dates and pay review dates, all regular and irregular payments, all regular invoices reminders, let property management including all boiler servicing, tenancy renewals, fire alarm servicing, first aid kit maintenance, VAT return reminders, livestock and milk summary reporting.

Basically anything that needs doing on a regular or ad hoc basis can all be input into task manager and the reminder just pops up every day.