Please can I have some advice?

Options
twinks01
twinks01 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
Hi, I am studying AAT at the minute and have seen that some other people have posted on here about doing/done ATT. I have been thinking about maybe doing ATT - just wanted some advice about it from more knowledgable people first though please? I've got a few questions:
How does ATT compare with the tax papers for ACCA? What I mean is, are they the same sort of level so that being Certified would kind of cancel the ATT qualification out (does this make sense?)
Is it seen as a good qualification to have, particularly in the eyes of my employer (I work in practice) ie is it reasonably well regarded or something?
With the personal tax paper, does it cover more stuff than the AAT personal tax? Also, how does the AAT one compare with knowledge needed for doing real life tax returns?

Can't think of anything else in particular but any general comments and opinions would be appreciated
Thank you!

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi

I am studying for my ATT personal tax in May. It's like the difference between a degree and GCSEs!! Much harder!! No disrespect to the AAT tax exams but they are a comprehensive basic grounding and the reason I went on to do ATT was I rapidly realised I did not know nearly enough from AAT alone to do tax in practice. So my feeling is extra knowledge whether through another qualification or through detailed CPD is essential.