Let's share our experiences of studying the AAT and finding suitable employment.

Options
geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Good Morning folks

I thought I would start off this thread, since studying the AAT, or in fact any other academic course, can be quite a lonely experience, especially if you are doing it via distance learning.

It would be a good idea if we can share (and help) each other to identify the reasons why we choose the AAT and the circumstances which led us to this path, together with identifying different ways of studying, and what we expect to gain from completing the qualification.

I will start off by telling a bit about myself -

I have been out of work for just over a year now, I have almost 10 years experience of credit control. I have always enjoyed dealing with numbers, so that is probably the reason why I did credit control for so long. However, doing it for such a long time became boring (there is only a certain amount that needs to learned in order to do the job competently).

After my last job ended, I decided to do some tests (the ones which claim to match you to your ideal career). After spending a few weeks doing these and also using the govenment's careers website, I decided that accountancy was the most relevant to me. Therefore, in order to develop my career from credit control, I started the AAT in the summer of last year. However, I am still out of a job and try to find suitable employment (sales/purchase ledger clerk, accounts assistant etc)!

It would be nice if some of you fellow students could share your experiences and perhaps by doing so, we could help each other in our studies (by means of motivation when we are feeling a bit 'down'), and giving advice/pointers in finding getting suitable employment.

Who knows, we may even manage to make long term friends!
Β«13

Comments

• melb2902
    melb2902 Registered Posts: 38 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Morning Geek,