Going concern - going round in circles!

Options
Monsoon
Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
A company ceased to e a going concern in the accounting period and ceased trading the period after.

I have read various IAS and other documents and come to the conclusion that in the AP i am preparing i need to disclose in a note that the company is not a going concern and say why. But I also need to NOT prepare the accounts in accordance with GC principles and I can't forthelife of me find a list of how to do it differently! I've done an impairment review and adjusted debtors provisions, but is there anything else? Is there a checklist?

GC is so 'normal' that i can't see the woods for the trees when trying took out which accounting principles relate to GC.

Thanks

Comments

• stefanboro
    stefanboro Registered Posts: 187 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    I am currently studying the F7 module for ACCA and read about preparing accounts for an entity that is not a going concern only last week. It's a kick up the backside that I am now struggling to remember.

All of what you said is correct. Another point is that accounts are no longer prepared on an accruals basis but on a cash basis. I don't have my study books with me so, unless other people answer your question more comprehensively, will post a reply later tonight.

The most relevant standard I can think of is IAS 1 (revised) Presentation of financial statements. This link touches on the subject of the going concern basis but does not outline what to do in the context of an entity not being a going concern.

http://www.iasplus.com/standard/ias01.htm
  • Monsoon
    Options