How do you get to be successful

Options
Glynis
Glynis Registered Posts: 488 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
Ive bern thinking about this for a while now. I just want to know how you become a successful accountant. I mean get chartered become respected and move up the ladder. I'm middle aged and seem to be at the bottom of the pile. What do you have to do to make something of yourself. It can't be impossible can it?

Comments

• Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options
    Hello Glynis

I'm still studying AAT but already feel as though I am respected at work and hope to move up the ladder over time. Regarding getting chartered I think all you can do is study hard and sit the exams. Once qualified you can then build on your current experience and also apply what you have learnt whilst studying.

JC
    ~ An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest ~
    Benjamin Franklin
  • Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options
    You don't command respect by getting a qualification, you earn respect by listening to and helping other people, by being fair and good at what you do.
  • katz568
    katz568 Registered Posts: 93 Regular contributor โญ
    Options
    You don't command respect by getting a qualification, you earn respect by listening to and helping other people, by being fair and good at what you do.

Exactly what I was going to say.
    I'm in a similar postion to you Glynis in that i finished the level 4 at a similar time and started job hunting at around the same time, however I decided not to go further with my studies until I gained employment in the accounting field in a job I felt was right for me and a job that I knew I would get the support and respect of my peers in that job for what I was doing currently and my further studies.