Interview tonight in a practice

Options
sazrah
sazrah Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
Hi Guys

I have an interview tonight as a Trainee Accountant. I'm not very good at interviews as I get so nervous, I'm shaking already and I'm not there until 6.30pm hehe.

I really want this job, its's the first vacancy I have seen in a practice and have managed to get an interview. Does anyone have any advice on what questions may be asked or what they may want to know from me so I can try and prepare as I am totally blank.

Thanks
Sarah

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Options
    Just be yourself.

An interview is a mutual thing - do you want to work for them as well as do they want you. You are interviewing and assessing them at the same time as them interviewing you.

If you are enthusiastic, that is always a good thing. Also remember to think of what you can do for them. They want to take on someone who can be an asset to their business and help them make money. So it's great for you to say "I really want this job because I really want to get into practice" but make sure you add how that enthusiasm will help them: you will be reliable, attack all tasks with gusto and attention to detail, you're willing to do all sorts of tasks as you are eager to learn, etc.

While hopefully they are nice people who want you to enjoy your job too, ultimately, they want you because you will make them money, so always make sure you say what you have to say in a way that shows how you can benefit them.

Above all, be yourself, don't rehearse lines too much. Being genuine is much better than effectively reading from a script.

When in doubt, try the age-old thing of imagining them sitting their in their undies or silly clothes, if that will help put you a bit more at ease (and not give you a giggling fit!)! :lol:

Best of luck!!
  • sazrah
    Options
    Thanks Monsoon, I shall bear those points in mind :)