Advised required - Dismissed from previous job - present employer requires references

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi Folks

I was dismissed from my office job on grounds of not performing my job tasks properly, although I had been working for that employer for almost 2 years. I did not claim for unfair dismissal (which I regret now) because I had not been with that employer for more than 2 years).

Now I have managed to get a full time permanent accounts job at a local company. This was through a recruitment agency. I think the agency did not check my references, although they did ask for reference details. So, I don't think my current employer is aware of the fact that I was dismissed from my previous job.

I have now been in this new job for about 3 weeks. My contract with this new employer was given to me in the 1st week I started. However, now my new employer is asking for a reference from my previous employer (from where I was dismissed).

I rang the HR dept of my previous employer who said that if on the reference there is a direct question relating to reason for leaving, then are obliged to write 'dismissed.'

My question is - If this happens, can my present employer withdraw the job offer and dismiss me from this current job if the reference they receive from my previous employer says 'dismissed'? And if so, can I do anything about it?

Thanks in advance for your response.

Comments

• Daz1865
    Daz1865 Registered Posts: 67 Regular contributor ⭐
    So you have signed an employment contract? Was there any clauses about it being contingent on good references?

Try not to worry about it. When I have dealt with recruitment before, they normally appoint based on CV and interviews. The references are just seen as an after thought and something to tick a box. I'm sure you'll be fine.

Just two thoughts however;
    1. Are you a member of a trade union?