Level 3 study material...?

MA86
MA86 Registered Posts: 9 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi,

I am currently studying level 2 on a F/T basis at college. I have got my Basic Costing exam this afternoon and then only the Computerised Accounting exam to do, I should be finished by mid-Jan '12.

I have found that I am really excelling with Accounting in general; and have been doing voluntary work at weekends to gain hands-on experience. Once I find work - easier said than done in the current financial climate! - I will be looking to start level 3 by doing day release if permitted off any prospective employer; most likely though, by attending night classes/long distance learning. If I go for the latter, is their any level 3 study material people can recommend?... bearing in mind we are currently using Kaplan and I don't rate it, as it seems aimed more at people with experience!

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Mark.

Comments

• Julietteb
    Julietteb Registered Posts: 26 Epic contributor 🐘
    I'm buying Kaplan material which I like and I don't have experience. I find it covers more than what you need to know in some cases but I don't think that's a bad thing
  • anisurrahman
    anisurrahman Registered Posts: 130 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I am using BPP books....not bad. I like Osborne's book as well. Having said that, I always prefer college hand-outs :)

Ronnie
  • uknitty
    uknitty Registered Posts: 591 Epic contributor 🐘
    I started studying at level 2 via distance learning and at the time was not working in accounts. I'm now working as an accounts assistant and almost finished level 4.

I've used Osborne books throughout and they are by far my favourites. I personally don't like BPP books because I find that they are very "visual" and I am not a visual learner ! Other people get along really well with them though.