What is a basic payroll qualification?

Options
Sparkly
Sparkly Registered Posts: 139 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Bit random this!
I'm completing my cost benefit analysis for my ICAS project. One of my recommendations is for the payroll clerk to be given the opportunity to study a formal payroll qualification. I need to give an approximate cost for this but am not sure what basic payroll qualifications are available and am going round in circles. Please can someone who is studying/has studied a payroll qualifiaction point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

p.s I've aleready consulted my trusty friend Google but as I don't know anything about payroll I haven't managed to identify an appropriate qualification!

Comments

• uknitty
    uknitty Registered Posts: 591 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    I'm studying for a payroll qualification via IAB as they are quite cost effective.

http://www.iab.org.uk/qual_sept2010.asp

CIPP offer in depth training right from the basics and up to masters degree level - but it is quite pricy in comparison though.

http://www.cipp.org.uk/en/learning-and-development/Payroll-qualifications/index.cfm

Most payroll software providers have some sort of training package available. Have you looked at the webpages of Sage and the like ?

I'm also on the cost/benefit analysis section of my project. I'm looking at implementing a clocking in system for mine though. Interesting how we both started out in a similar place and have taken different directions ....

My project is stupidly long (what can I say - I am a waffler!) Last night it was hitting 6000 words, I have edited back to 5000, but I still have a way to go. Can't wait to get it finished and signed off.
  • Sparkly
    Sparkly Registered Posts: 139 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Thank you for the info, you are a star!