What is a Member in Practice?

Col Snaders
Col Snaders Registered Posts: 14 Regular contributor ⭐
I am currently studying L4 AAT and I have been looking at what to do next, mainly ACA or ACCA (I really don't want to do CIMA). However my employer will not sponsor me and I'm not in a position to find an alternative employer at the moment.

I have looked at lots of threads in the Members in Practice area but I don't understand how you become one or even what a Member in Practice can do. What does it mean?

Please help!

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    It means a MAAT who's mad enough to work for themselves ;)

A MIP can be an accountant, bookkeeper, consultant, whatever, it just means we work for ourselves in whatever accounting capacity offering services to the public. Most of us are general practitioners who do bookkeeping, accounts and tax returns for individuals and small businesses.

You need enough experience to get a MIP licence, as you can't be unleashed on the public without knowing what you're doing. Any MAAT who works for themselves is obliged to register as a MIP under the AAT rules. You become a MIP by applying to be one and fulfilling the criteria - worth reading on the AAT website what is involved.

Warning: if you want to go on to a chartered qualification, find out about their practising rules beforehand if you want to work for yourself - they can be very restricitive in what services their student members can offer to the public, mostly reduced to just bookkeeping and no final accounts or tax work.
  • JamesB
    JamesB Registered Posts: 51 Epic contributor 🐘
    Good morning,

I have recently finished the ACA qualification after doing the AAT-ACA fast track and one thing I will say to you is before you make any decisions consider: