Advice Please!

Kirstytev
Kirstytev Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
Hi
I am after a bit of advice, not sure if anyone on here can help me but the AAT have been a bit vague!
I am currently studying level 4 distance learning, and have just one exam to go - Personal Tax which is in 2 weeks.
When I started level 4, I found out I was exempt from one of the optional units so only had to chose one - I chose Personal Tax as I wish to apply for MAAT and eventually start my own practice - self assessment for self employed is a service I wish to offer. Having started the unit, I realised that self employment comes under Business Tax - a unit I am not studying!
My company are paying for my studying (I work as a management accountant) and as the unit would be extra and not really for my work, I cant expect them to pay for me to do Business Tax, and at the minute, I cant afford to pay for it myself.
I asked the AAT for advice and they pointed out that the qualification may not be enough when I apply for MAAT status anyway and that I would need experience too.
I am now a bit stuck as to what to do, obviously I don't get experience in this topic at my current job so I will need to gain some experience somehow elsewhere but I don't know if that will be enough without studying the unit too. I can borrow books on Business Tax so that I am able to study the unit but would this count as CPD or not? I am unsure whether to pay and study the unit and then get some work experience somehow or whether I am able to study it myself without doing the exam and then get some experience too?
Anybody got any suggestions?
Thanks!
Kirsty

Comments

• Rinske
    Rinske Registered Posts: 2,453 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hi Kirsty,

You said you work in management accounts, which should be enough for your MAAT status. Whether it will be enough to start as a MIP is different.