Help with agent ID

Options
gsauny21
gsauny21 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone,

I’m hoping I may get some closure on here as HMRC seen clueless on how to best resolve this.

I have been trading as a sole trader MIP for just over three years but have now entered into partnership with a very good and trusted friend. We have decided to change the trading name of the business but experiencing problems with migrating all our clients to the new business via HMRC. I have an agent ID for the old business however, I just can’t seem to get any sense from HMRC as to how best to migrate our clients. After being pushed from one department to another I was told to write to the CAA team at long Benton. I did this two weeks ago but no reply as yet!

Has anyone had a similar experience? If so please help....

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Fingersan
    Fingersan Registered Posts: 84 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Hi

I know a couple of years ago, HMRC used to have a department called the 'Agent Maintainer' Team. I found this on HMRC website, it may be of some help:

SAM105020 - Records: agent record: setting up new SA agent codes
    All requests for new SA Agent Codes must be made in writing to CAAT. The new agent must send confirmation that they require a Self Assessment Agent Code together with details of the business name, name of the partner/director of the business, address and telephone number to

HMRC
    CAAT
    Agent Maintainer Team
    Benton Park View
    Longbenton
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    NE98 1ZZ

Note: HMRC cannot accept this information by telephone, fax or online. Requests made using these methods will not be accepted. The request must be made in writing.