Quickbook any good?

Options
Diddy Mau
Diddy Mau Registered Posts: 238 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
Hello all.

I am currently studying AAT 4.

I might have an opportunity to do some bookeeping for someone who is starting their own business.
I will look into the MIP Scheme, to see exactly what I am able (Compitent). I was thinking of starting with basic bookeeping and build up.

My question is...is buying Quickbooks a good idea? I'm thinking of the following:
Is this a one off price, as I dont know how this wil go.
Can I use more than one company on one software? If I get the chance.

I know people mention VT, and it looks good, But ideally I would like to buy something once that will last. Even if this doesnt happen I can use it to gain practice and confidence of using software without the time restraint

I realise this may seem strange, but thank you to anyone who can help:thumbup1:

Comments

• JodieR
    JodieR Registered Posts: 1,002 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options
    I've used quickbooks for about 6 years now and don't plan on changing any time soon.

You've got a couple of choices when it comes to buying it: you can either buy a single user copy - If you do this don't opt for the most basic one as the features are very very limited, but the middle one (I htink it's called 'Pro') is perfectly fine for most small businesses, or you may want to get the Premier/Accountants version which has extra reports and I think that the stock control features are better.

The alternative to buying one copy is to sign up to the professional advisor scheme - for this you get a copy of the Premier version to use yourself and a copy of Pro which you can sell on ebay. you also get the payroll features for a year. It may be too much for you at this stage, but it's worth considering.

Either way, once you've got the software you can use it to create as many company files as you need.