Ammended invoices

Options
Hi guys,

I get all the good clients, me!

So, I have a client who has invoiced all of his clients with VAT on the invoice, but they aren't VAT registered (well done client!)

I've told them all about late registration penalties... etc (as you'd expect), and the client came back and said 'well, what if I reissue the invoices explaining that the previous one erroneously showed VAT, showing a new figure equal to the previous gross amount?'

I said no, if you've charged VAT you've a legal obligation to pay it over. But it did make me wonder... could they get away with this? (n.b. I don't believe that any of their clients are VAT registered, so nobody will have reclaimed any of the VAT they paid).

Comments

• john8589
    john8589 Registered Posts: 5 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Hi Mike

I'm not a VAT expert, but ...

I'm surprised one or two clients have not queried the 'VAT' invoices issued by your client, as surely there isn't a VAT number on the invoices (unless he made one up!).

He can reissue invoices, but I would say if he reissued the invoices it would have to be at the net amount only?!

If he is already near the threshold for registration or anticipates to be in the near future, I think it would be best to register now and deal with the penalties.

Sorry I can't be any more of a help, but somebody else may be able to give some better advice..

John
  • PGM
    PGM Registered Posts: 1,954 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    I'd have thought re-issue the invoices at the correct amount and refund the vat amounts?
  • Tracy_Rutherford
    Tracy_Rutherford Registered Posts: 19 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Hi,

If your client is not at the VAT threshold he can register voluntarly, this way there will be no penalties and he can back date his vat registration date up to 4 years, so the invoices he has raised with VAT on will be ok.

Tracy :)
  • deanshepherd