I need a sounding board||

SusieQtips
SusieQtips Registered Posts: 65 Regular contributor ⭐
Is there anyone on here that would have the time and patience to act as a sounding board for me??

A young lad who is working at my place of work, set up on his own in Feb 2011 and has had a friend helping him to do his books (simplex D) he was very nervous about completing his tax return as he has relied on the friend to complete his books and the lad knows nothing about accounting or tax.

He asked me if I would look at them for him to see that what he was putting on his return, was correct and to see if he was claiming for all that he could. As I have had no practical experience since qualifying I thought it would be good experience for me and agreed.

I've realised it's totally different learning the theory, than seeing it in real life and I'm struggling with some really simple things that I hoped someone on here would help me with.

I have tried to set up an excel spreadsheet for him, with cash/bank in/out columns and then a column for each expense, is this the best way of doing it?

1. He did his 1st set accounts from Feb 2011 to 3rd April 2011 and then from 4/4/11 - 1/4/12. Does this matter for the tax year, will HMRC treat it as 6/4/11-5/4/12?

2. To claim for use of home as office is there a set weekly figure/formula used? He has used the formula of 7 rooms in his rented house and is claiming 1/7th of all bills.

3. He doesn't have a separate bank account for his business use, would it be better for him if he did?