GCSE's to O-Levels

Recently on BBC question time this topic was discussed while Ken Clarke was on the panel.

The jist is simply that qualifications are too easy or that they are losing their worth in the eyes of students.

As i have recently come out of education i'm curious what everyone's thoughts are on this topic.

Should O-Levels be reinstated?
Would you, if so how reform education at any stage?
Should apprenticeships be pushed forward rather than attending university?

Or any other thoughts on this topic in general.

Discuss...

Comments

• Makkusu
    Makkusu Registered Posts: 94 Regular contributor ⭐
    I'm an accountant not a politician, BUT.....

I do think something is broken with this country and building a strong foundation for our future is imo where the solution lies i.e. education. Having passed my GCSE's many years ago whilst messing around and not attending classes I still managed decent grades. It's not a great measurement of young potential, ability and ambition... at all.

So I agree something needs to be changed, all the entry requirements at the moment are too much of a blur, employers have hundreds of applicants with similar grades with nothing other than judgement of character to tell if they have decent potential or not. Making education more stringent and harder will allow easier definition of youngsters ability and perhaps put a bit of ambition back into the youngsters of the future. I personally think it'll make the child prodigies shine.

As for apprenticeships, I think the way education is going University will be/should be for elite students (away with all those gimmick degrees that lead nowhere), and apprenticeships will be to push forward skills, trades & more vocational career paths.

There is no true definition of ability in todays education. The only thing that makes me go 'wow' is if somebody has a good degree from Oxbridge, everything else any old chap could achieve if they used their brain.