Getting into Accountancy from Financial Services advice ?

coolhandflex
coolhandflex Registered Posts: 20 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi

I have been working in Financial Services for 20 years in a variety of roles ranging from pension admin
to paraplanning to regulated complaints. I have also passed my FPC exams.

I have reached a stage where I need a new challenge and I am very keen to get into accountancy as I think I would really enjoy it and be good at it. I have done the Skilltest Check on this site and as I
thought, it suggested that if I did my AAT I should start at Level 2.

I have looked on the jobsites and I appreciate that I will have start at low end of the ladder as maybe a trainee which will mean a large drop in salary but I am still committed. I have also looked at the
various study options for the AAT and I think distance learning would suit me best.

I was wondering whether anyone could give me some advice on the following:

1. Has anyone actually just bought the study books and studied all on their own before sitting the exam or is it help that the distance learning firms give invaluable ?

2. Should I pay for and start studying/study and pass the AAT before I even look for a job ? Alternatively, what is the likelihood that a company would put me through the exams when I started ?

3. What sort of role and salary would I be expecting ? Would 20 years financial services/office experience be to my benefit or would I be treated the same as a school leaver/graduate with no experience ?

I would really appreciate anyone that can help or can share their experiences :001_smile:

Jamie

Comments

• coolhandflex
    Anyone ?:001_smile:
  • SashaDella
    SashaDella Registered Posts: 362