Worried I have made the wrong choice - please help

Options
emski
emski Registered Posts: 6 Regular contributor ⭐
I have almost completed Level 3 and plan to start Level 4 in September. I chose to study AAT because I was informed that you do not need work experience in finance to acquire the diploma. I would like to apply for professional membership when I finish Level 4. However, I have recently read that I would need to have completed 12 months work experience in a financial role to be considered for full membership. This was never made clear when I first signed up and I am now concerned that I may have made the wrong choice in studying AAT.

I have a degree in Graphic Design but have worked as a Contracts Administrator for a provider of financial software for the past 6 years. I chose AAT as I thought it would be an excellent professional qualification to support the work I have done for the past few years. My job is not a finance role but it does involve working with calculations, margins and mark-ups, raising of invoices and credit notes, and signing off maintenance costs for payment.

Please can someone clarify what kind of work experience is required to apply for full membership? If I am not considered for full membership, would there be any other reason for me to pay my membership fee next year?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• NicF
    NicF Registered Posts: 108 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options