Accountants Don't Understand Marketing ~ True or not?

Options
GinnyBee
GinnyBee Registered, Tutor Posts: 131 Dedicated contributor 🦉
I've been reading an article which states that Accountants don't understand marketing. Do you think this is true? Why?

One accountant quoted had this to say about marketing: 'I can tell you that marketing doesn't work for us so we try not to do any'. Is s/he correct or misguided?

Comments

• stefanboro
    stefanboro Registered Posts: 187 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    You get this topic coming up now and then. Thinking about this with even just a slight degree of logic really makes you see what utter tosh it is.

I cannot do DIY stuff.
    I CANNOT and simply REFUSE to cook.
    I enjoy walking the North Yorkshire moors.
    I simply love The Walking Dead.
    I am an accountant.

Now, I really don't care if a peer reviewed piece of research claimed that the majority of accountants are also like this. The fact is we are more than just accountants - we all have our individual abilities and interests. Maybe a lot of accountants in practice simply haven't got the knowledge, courage or financial ability to market themselves in different formats. Some, particularly with twitter, do it too much. Generalizing a profession however is, to my mind, inquisitive laziness on behalf of the thinker.
  • jamesm96
    jamesm96 Registered Posts: 523
    Options
    GinnyBee wrote: »
    'I can tell you that marketing doesn't work for us so we try not to do any'.

Well, I'd say that whoever said this doesn't understand marketting. But to say that accountants in general do not is a massive generalisation. A person's ability to understand the double-entry system and UK GAAP bears no relation to a person's understanding of how a business interacts with its customers.