Overpriced accountant fees?

Options
GemmaS
GemmaS Registered Posts: 178 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
My other half was asking me about his accountant fees over the weekend. He has a full time job in London, but also is a part time sole trader with his own company providing IT support. His company has a turnover of about 30,000-40,000 per year. I'm currently studying AAT Level 3 so I don't feel I have the knowledge or experience to do his year end accounts for him yet; for the past 2 years I have just done all of the basic book-keeping for him up to trial balance ready to pass over to the accountant for it to be finalised. He is then charged Β£2,200 per year by them. I have looked in the forum for past posts about prices to charge for this sort of thing and for what the accountant actually does for him is this a reasonable fee? He can be a bit of a nightmare when it comes to the accounts, however since I have been doing the book-keeping he has become a lot better in regards to how he does things and the records he keeps.

Any advice would be fantastic here.

Thanks

Comments

• groundy
    groundy Registered Posts: 495 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    Β£2,200 for a sole trader. WOW. Are there any other complex factors on his return?

I really need to start advertising down south more!
  • GemmaS
    Options
    From your reaction I take it you think thats too much as well?!?!

Well as I said he works full time, so his company is obviously his second income, he has a flat he rents out but apart from that it's not too complex. He has always been a nightmare about keeping records and insists on paying for things out of the wrong account and making things messy. He also tries to get away with a lot as far as putting things through the books is concerned. After some very noisy conversations since I have been doing the book-keeping he has got a lot better and things are a lot tidier.