Self Employed Person Taking On First Employee

Options
JamesB
JamesB Registered Posts: 51 Epic contributor 🐘
Good afternoon all,

Just a quick question regarding a self employed plumber who wants to take on an apprentice paying him low wages (legal min wage) and sending him off to college.

Am I right in saying he will have to register for PAYE for an employer and pay him through this way? He won't have any tax / NI to pay as will not be earning enough.

It will be the apprentice's first job as well so will he need to fill out a P46?

Any other advice on what needs to be done is very much welcomed.

Is there any free software out there that can calculate his net pay, print payslips etc?

I have very little previous experience with anything payroll related so any advice will be appreciated.

Regards,

JB

Comments

• Lina
    Lina Registered Posts: 41 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Hi,

Yes,you have to register plumber for PAYE and every year submit P35. New starter will have to complete P46.

Optionally you can register him for CIS as plumbing jobs fall under the scheme. But there is no advantage to both, as he would have to deduct 20% from the trainee and pay it every month to HMRC even the minimum is earned.

Not sure about free software for running payroll, but I am sure that HMRC have their free software as I remember they used to send out discs before. Maybe now, there are no discs , only link on their web.
    Talk to New Employers helpline.
  • JodieR
    JodieR Registered Posts: 1,002 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Sorry Lina but I don't agree with your answer!

your client will only need to register as an employer if the employees earnings exceed the lower earnings limit. If you're only paying the apprentice wage then it's unlikely this will be exceeded.