Help & advise please - Business Tax as an additional module

Options
Sulew17
Sulew17 Registered Posts: 174 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
My college doesn't give us the option to take BTX - only PTX and Credit Management. As I want to work in tax (and hopefully do ATT after I finish level 4) I want to take BTX as an extra at the end of the year when I have finished PTX.

My question is this: should I enrol with one of the home study companies or would I be able to learn enough from the tutorial books plus what I've learned from PTX to self study without having to enrol for just one module?

My college tutor has told me I can take the CBA at college which is a big plus!

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Su

Comments

• CHES&STAFF01
    CHES&STAFF01 Registered Posts: 107 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Options
    When I studied my final level, our college did the same (Credit Mgmt & PTX). One of the students in the class didn't sit Credit Mgmt and instead travelled to another college to sit BTX and did PTX with the rest of us.

Depending on your situation (apprenticeship etc) maybe discussing the idea of going to another centre for BTX would help?

I asked about BTX as opposed to PTX and the student doing both did say there was quite a bit of cross over. You could also borrow a textbook for BTX and compare it to what you know from PTX to help make your decision.

Good luck!
  • Sulew17
    Options
    Unfortunately, all the local colleges are now only doing PTX! I had looked at going to another college because, originally, they were doing both but then decided to follow everyone else and only do PTX. There are five colleges within about 20 miles of where I live and they all do the same!

Thanks anyway.
  • Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options