Ppr

Options
JodieR
JodieR Registered Posts: 1,002 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
I heard today that you can have two 'principle private residences' if one is in england & one in scotland. I've never heard of this before and the person who I was speaking to is definately no expert in such matters but I'm curious to know if there's any truth in this at all. Does anyone know?

Comments

• reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    JodieR wrote: »
    I heard today that you can have two 'principle private residences' if one is in england & one in scotland. I've never heard of this before and the person who I was speaking to is definately no expert in such matters but I'm curious to know if there's any truth in this at all. Does anyone know?

I'm no expert either but according to HMRC's helpsheet:
    "If you live in, as your home, two or more houses, you can only have one main residence at a time for Private Residence Relief. You can nominate which residence is to be treated as your main residence for any period."

I also did a search for the word "Scotland" in the help sheet and it came up with no results.

Therefore I would conclude that you can't have 2 PPR's.
  • jamesm96
    jamesm96 Registered Posts: 523
    Options
    I must admit I've never heard of any kind of dual-PPR; as a UK resident you'll pay UK tax on your worldwide income (including worldwide gains) so I can't see why there'd be a relief simply because the property is in a different bit of the UK.
  • JodieR
    Options
    Thanks, I thought it was odd i'd never come accross this before... I've not idea where he got this idea from but his friend has built himself a holiday home in Scotland based on this information and now thinks that there'll be no CGT to pay on it and I think he's extending this to not needing to declare rental income on it either... I'm NOT getting involved with that one!!
  • jamesm96
    Options