Help needed - business start up

Paul Gilleade
Paul Gilleade Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
I have just received confirmation that I am AAT registered for the MIP scheme. I am registered for - Bookkeeping, Financial Accounting and Accounts Preparation, Management Accounting, Budgeting and Forecasting, Payroll, Value Added Tax, Computerised Accountancy Systems. I also have the relevant PI insurance and employers/public liability insurance in place. I have a web site, which is up and running, an email address and a name for the business.

I have 20+ years of experience in accounts, including sales ledger, purchase ledger, cash book, nominal, and payroll. I can produce accounts to trial balance, full profit and loss, VAT submissions, Payroll end of year - basically what I would determine as a good book keeping service and something that a client would be able to submit to their accountant for statutory submission. I have been involved in a group of companies (4 ltd + 1 partnership - circa turnover £8 million) and 3 new start up companies involving turnovers between £100k to £1 million

I have tried to get work via the job centre and agency, but to no avail (I have been out of the accounting function for 18 months now, even though I have been studying AAT level 4). So I decided that MIP was the way to go forward

BUT NOW where do I go and how do I present myself. What I mean is where do I go to seek out new business and how do I sell myself?

I know this is a little vague, but I would presume that many of the MIP's would have had the same sort of issues and any pointers would be greatly appreciative

Many thanks

Paul

Comments

• Surr3yaat
    Surr3yaat Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
    Hello Paul