Someone tell me it gets better

Antoinnette
Antoinnette Registered Posts: 118 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
I have only recently started out as a MIP and have taken on some bookkeeping for two charities in order to learn about how charity accounts work and to get some regular income. Both charities use sage and have major historic errors which they expect me to wipe away in very little time. One of the directors sat on my back for four hours last week asking after every fifteen minutes if I had sorted it out....we are talking errors made over three years:ohmy:
In trying to work to the time pressures I find I have actually started making mistakes in trying to correct the historic mistakes and have to go back to reverse them, leaving a riot of red lines which I feel makes me look incompetent. I have been using Sage since 2007, have set it up from scratch, use it for bookkeeping and accounts etc so its not like I don't know how to use the software. I think the asking for so much in so little time is getting to me a bit.
I probably need a mentor as I suspect I have actually started on the wrong footing. Any advice will be very welcome.:001_smile:

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Bookkeeping isn't really what I do Antionette.

However, I would look at it and start by deciding what you have originally been appointed to do? Is it particularly sorting out these errors or is it ongoing bookkeeping and they thought they could get the errors sorted whilst you were there.

In my experience charities and not-for-profit organisations can be particularly demanding and I don't get involved with many.

Is there any major need to sort these errors out or are they really minor and immaterial?

I would say as a bookkeeper your going to get two types of work. Those who are looking for a new bookkeeper (ok work) and those who are in a mess and need help with sorting things out (a pain but possibly the most rewarding work).