Project advice - work based project or not?

Options
marvel7
marvel7 Registered Posts: 15 Dedicated contributor 🦉
I am about to start the project but I am unsure if i should do it based on my existing employer or ask my tutor to give me a project.

The main issue is that although I work in the Financial Services industry I currently dont work in the Finance department so I feel i may find certain aspects of the project difficult but if I get given the project I will have all the information to hand and I wont need to complete any research.

Do people recommend completing the project based on their workplace or is it more advisable to complete a project given by the tutor.

Comments

• janwal
    janwal Registered Posts: 1,189 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Marvel7

Firstly this is just my opinion based on what I know, I attempted to do the project work based and I do work in a Finance dept, I got so much bad input from work that in the end I have gone for the scenario, to say it was the easy option, lets say had it 3 months now and got no clue.......1st draft due Feb 18th.

Good luck

Jan
  • reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    marvel7 wrote: »
    I am about to start the project but I am unsure if i should do it based on my existing employer or ask my tutor to give me a project.

The main issue is that although I work in the Financial Services industry I currently dont work in the Finance department so I feel i may find certain aspects of the project difficult but if I get given the project I will have all the information to hand and I wont need to complete any research.

Do people recommend completing the project based on their workplace or is it more advisable to complete a project given by the tutor.

I think it depends on whether or not you have a supportive training manager/mentor.