Studying ACCA papers F4 to F9 Full time then the BSc Applied Accounting Degree ?

Options
George Tse
George Tse Registered Posts: 241 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hello

I passed the AAT in 2009 and have not been employed in an accounts role since then.

I am wondering if I would get more of a chance of getting an accounting job if I studied ACCA papers F4 - F9 full time and then do the research projects for the BSc degree.

Questions is will I be too over qualified with out much accounting experience or is this an idea for now ?

My other alternative is to go back to university and study for a different degree as I do not have a degree which will improve my changes in getting on to a graduate scheme when I graduate but the thing is I am 23 years old now.

So is the ACCA and then the BSc a good idea or not ?

Kind Regards

Gentle Jesus

Comments

• Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Options
    Easy to say but I think the work experience is more important at this stage, otherwise you run the danger of being over qualified/under experienced
  • George Tse
    George Tse Registered Posts: 241 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Options
    Easy to say but I think the work experience is more important at this stage, otherwise you run the danger of being over qualified/under experienced

Problem is I cant find any everyone keeps telling me this :(
  • jnvp
    jnvp Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Catch 22

I can sympathise with your situation as I find myself in the same place. You need qualifications to get a job but cannot get a job without experience. I have opted to start papers F4 to F9 in September with the hope that the degree will give me a greater scope of jobs to apply for as the graduate job then become available as well. Good luck :001_unsure:
  • Amy Smith
    Amy Smith Registered Posts: 54 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hello!