Hello, need a little Advice about getting back on track.

Options
Inck
Inck Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hello,

I graduated in 2011 with a 2:2 with a Degree in Business, unfortunately I have been unable to land a job as of yet (Still working in retail), I really want to become an accountant but can’t find anyone to take me on to do my ACA/ACCA.

I was wondering if I do the AAT would IT boost my chances? I have been told several times that it’s not worth doing as it’s a “step back” but I can’t see what else I can do.
I have been suggested to do a CFAB instead but it does not seem to be as well recognised as the AAT.

I was also told to start doing ACCA off my own back and hopefully land a job doing this as it may impress employers..But this is a little risky.

Can anyone advise me on what I can do?

Comments

• Amy Smith
    Amy Smith Registered Posts: 54 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hello!

I would advise that you attempt the AAT qualification...

You can self study in your own time and book exams as you please so you can qualify quicker or slower, depending on your flexibility. This will give you a much clearer insight into accountancy as well as more opportunities to be employed.

Plus, being AAT qualified will give you some exemptions in your ACCA/ACA qualification. If you feel it would be a 'step back', you can opt to not complete level 2 and jump straight into Level 3 then Level 4. Some aspects you may find simple, but other aspects will be challenging!

Hope this helps :001_smile:
    Here to help
    ~AAT Qualified~
  • Inck
    Options
    Thanks for the Reply Amy

I don't mind starting from level 2, I was just worried that I would be making the wrong decision.

I have been doing a little research and views seem to be mixed about doing the AAT after a Degree, some went as far as saying that it was looked down up by employers.

Is this true at all?

I just want to make sure I don't make the wrong decisions.
  • Jo Clark