starting level 3 without level 2 at college

Options
Vlee
Vlee Registered Posts: 136 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
Hello

I started studying level 2 a few months ago and once I got my head around double entry bookkeeping I started finding the course very easy and repetitive (I have a degree in a non related subject and six years work experience with some indirect accounting experience - I've been home with my two kids for three years now). My study stalled when the almost 3 yo broke her leg and stopped nursery. I will finish over the summer. I don't want to take the exam as it will cost £350 minimum.

I had hoped to start level 3 in September at a local college so I'd put both kids in nursery and have bit of a social aspect to studying and better motivation and support. However the college are being jobsworths as I don't already have level 2 or six months working in accountancy. Two distance providers have already said they'd accept me so I will do that if necessary or even stay self studying.

Any advice on whether its possible to get the college onside or should I even bother as it's more expensive anyway?

Thanks

Comments

• steve2008
    steve2008 Registered Posts: 89 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Personally I would suggest going down the distance learning route or self-study for level 3. As long as you can motivate yourself to do it it would be cheaper.

I have a degree (in Maths) and am finding level 3 fine as self study, completed AP1, AP2 and Indirect Tax so far. I have not had any real problems in understanding the texts.
    Any questions you do have can be answered by fellow students here or https://www.facebook.com/groups/aatdistancelearning/.

I would suggest going through the level 2 books first, maybe doing the mock assessments on the AAT website just so you know you have covered that material.
  • Vlee
    Vlee Registered Posts: 136 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options