Starting Level 3 in Sept, new to accountancy and not done level 2 - advice please!

Options
Bean88
Bean88 Registered Posts: 12 Regular contributor ⭐
Hello,

I'm due to start the level 3 diploma at a college in September. I managed to pass the AAT skill checker to get eligibilty for level 3 without the need to study level 2. I pushed for this as was told by someone that level 2 is far too easy and slow as a 1 year part time course so hopefully I've made the right decision.

Anyone have any views on this, bearing in mind I'm completely new to accounting and like I say, have not studied level 2?

My question was how should I best prepare between now and September before starting level 3? Would reading up on some of the level 2 text books be enough? How about SAGE? I understand this is included at level 2, and again, I've no experience or knowledge of this. I don't want to be in a position where I'm struggling with level 3 due to having not done the previous studies..

Any knowledge or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• Nps
    Nps Registered Posts: 782
    Options
    Hello,

My advice is to buy/borrow the level 2 books and just read through them. Yes, level 2 is straightforward and a year is a long time to spend on it, but it does include the basics which you need to be comfortable with else level 3 will be a struggle.

I wouldn't worry about Sage (or the computerised accounting module), or WEAF (Working Effectively in Accounting and Finance). I didn't do either and it didn't hold me back at all. They don't tie in with any of the later modules.

Presumably you have some accounting knowledge else how did you know enough about double entry to pass the skills test? If you fluked it, then you really need to read the level 2 books.

I had no clue about accountancy when I started and I just read the level 2 books, before moving on to level 3. Lots of us have done the same so you'll be fine.
  • Bean88
    Options