Does this sound cheap?

Options
Kelly7
Kelly7 Registered Posts: 218 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
Hi guys
I went to my college today to ask for the level 4 cost & was told it was £994 plus an additional cost of £270. From searching online and looking at other colleges this seems quite cheap to me, was wondering if anyone else had any prices. I'm 28 too which I think should make it more expensive?
X

Comments

• wabisabi
    wabisabi Registered Posts: 130 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hi Kelly7

I think it is quite reasonable. At the college I studied at last year they have effectively doubled the cost of their AAT courses (and a lot of other vocational courses too) due to the withdrawal of Government funding. L2 and L3 now cost £1750 plus the cost of books but including exam fees. L4 will be around the same amount if not more.

Sometimes colleges offer bursaries, depending on your personal circumstances - worth asking. You could also take out a student loan. The Student Finance people at the college would be able to advise on this.

Best wishes

WS
  • Malcolm Green
    Malcolm Green Registered Posts: 105 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Kelly,

Normally the cost of courses are about the same depending on the type of training package and support being provided i.e. books and exam fees etc.

However some providers do have different funding arrangements in place to help reduce the overall cost of their fees.

Any reductions in fees through funding support are typically banded between the ages of 19 and 23 and then for those over 24 some degree of funding may still be available.

This may be why your level 4 fees are showing to be lower than some other colleges at the moment.
  • cazalino
    cazalino Registered Posts: 44 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    I will be paying £1649 for level 4 (well my employer will:001_smile:). That's for evening class 1 day a week. That excludes books and exams which are £38.
  • SandyHood